Scattered Polaroids

By sp

Backblip #7

Today. We went to Broadstairs. And... dun dun dun... it didn't rain!! Third time lucky. Instead it was super hot and sunny and generally beautiful. It was weird seeing the town like that - instead of finding little shops to shelter from the rain in, we were looking for places with outside seating.

In the end we settled for Morelli's for morning coffee. It was uh-mazing. The coffee and and the cafe!

We walked aaaalll the way round to the left of the town and spent a couple of hours on the beach. The seabed was entirely made of slightly jagged stones and incredibly slippery seaweed. There was lots of squealing and clinging on to each other as we paddled out. I cut my foot and it reeeally hurt. Also, my mum tried to 'save me' from a wave by yanking my dress up and exposing my non-bikini, non-public-view underwear to the whole beach. Thanks mum.

Back into town and we got some tasty treats from a bakery on the high street. We ate them (and some strawberries, and some amazing local apple juice) in a park in the dappled sunlight. We left the park at the other end, and walked aaaalll the way round to the right of the town, and spent a while in a little bay round that way.

There was a tiny dog that ran straight up to a sunbathing woman and shook sea water all over her. She didn't see the funny side at all, but me and my mum did, and it looked like the dog did too. There was a father and son playing frisbee in front of where we were laying - I spent the whole time wondering if I'd get hit and in the end I did: it bounced off my bum.

Morelli's got it's second visit of the day, this time for ice creams. My mint choc chip was amazing, and judging by the silence that accompanied it, my mum's cookie flavoured was too.


When we got back to Whitstable we showered the sand off then waited to get our last Kentish portion of chips. The main (and most popular) chip shop in town was just down the road, so we watched from the window, and waited for the optimum time to run down, just when the queue was at it's shortest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.