Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

Rare glimpse

Unless you live in the 'Tring triangle' bounded by Luton in the East and High Wycombe in the West, you will have no chance of seeing this cute little creature in the UK.

Brought to Tring Park by Baron Rothschild in 1902, these enchanting creatures escaped into the wild and have thrived.

They are described as one of Britain's rarest introduced mammals.

it is of course the Glis Glis or Edible Dormouse

I have known that these creatures were in the wall space of the house for some time, from their scuttling and noises, then today when I went into the shed this little face was peering at me. I had time to nip back to the house to grab my camera and take just a couple of shots with the flash before it disappeared.

This was my first ever sighting of a Glis Glis, very attractive, but also very destructive, I will have to sort the shed out tomorrow and see what they have been chewing. They are particularly fond of electric cables apparently.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.