Twas a dark and stormy night

A long drive to North Wales today - what should have been a short detour into the BMC became a quick van shopping trip, a huge road delay and then a tour of the newly refurbished BMC* offices - finally back to the M56 and onwards to Plas y Brenin....
North Wales and the Brenin are always good for a blip - and as I left God's finest city under blue skies I was confident I'd pull over, clear my head and grab a blip before heading into the first contentious meeting of the next few days - but as I entered Wales the sky dulled to grey and by the time I left the coast road I was in thick fog.
I arrived in time for coffee and then we got down to work - fortunately many of our quieter Directors have realised that we're at one of those junctions where you need to speak - 4 hours later we had what looks to be a robust consensus....
Retiring to the bar for food and to start greeting delegates I popped out to grab my bags - turning the Brenin looked a welcoming beacon in the howling wind, I guess we'll see.

* & yes, for those of you who follow mountaineering's politics - after announcing a decision (to rebrand as Climb Britain) that would somehow be followed by a consultation the BMC have decided to backtrack and remain the British Mountaineering Council.  In future years this will be discussed in business classes as a fantastic example of a good plan implemented about as badly as a plan could be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.