I Was All Eyes For This Argus

I checked on the backdoor ivy early this morning in the sunshine. It's still quite busy, mainly with wasps. A garden spider had just caught a fly and was busy wrapping it into a food parcel with silk, when I noticed wasps flying straight at it. The spider struck a defensive posture when this happened. I stood there a while and it wasn't a one-off. I've read that wasps do steal prey that spiders have caught. I was delighted to have captured one of the would-be marauders flying at the spider and that was to be my blip.

The weather went downhill and we had lots of rain. I was so surprised to find the above butterfly when Jazzy and I went for a walk this afternoon. I thought it was dead at first. I was really pleased when the sun came out, it warmed up and flew off, giving me a quick glimpse of its brown wings. I think it is a brown argus, these are very similar to the female common blue but they have two spots on their wings which make a figure-of-eight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.