Harbour

12.6C and mostly sunny with plenty of cloud around. One shower this afternoon. Light variable breeze.

I would like to thank you all very much for stopping by and leaving stars and hearts on my Blipday.
Yesterday's shot made it to page one on popular ... which is a rare thing. Many thanks !


Just after 10am Maeve the Deerhound and I went along to the local farmer's market and visited the baking stall. We bought scones, a wholemeal loaf, and a chocolate brioche. It was noticeably cooler this morning.

After lunch Maeve and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Capercaillie (The Blood is Strong) and Deacon Blue (The Hipsters) on the Clip. I went round by Aquilibrium and past the harbour and the ferry terminal and along the shore path in the long narrow park then on out Kilkerran road past the Goldsmith's house and studio to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill  and then kept going until I reached the 69 mile marker (or 31 miles if coming the other way) on the Kintyre Way which is out past the Doirlinn at Kildalloig Bay just before Davaar House.

As I walked along the path in the park I noticed a ship  out by the NATO jetty. As I got closer I could see its number. It was M110 HMS Ramsey, a Sandown-class minehunter of the Royal Navy. Like other vessels of the Sandown class, Ramsey is built of glass-reinforced plastic and other non-magnetic materials so that her hull does not trigger mines as easily as standard warships. Launched in 1999, she is the third vessel to bear the name. Her home port is Faslane.

I came back the same way I had gone out but went along the street side of the park and came back home through town past the town hall and the bookshop (closed). The one, and so far only, shower of the day came on as I approached the town. oops.

Afternoon music ... Elton John, Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy and Goodbye Yellow Brick Road.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/2000 sec. ISO-80 13mm (35mm focal length 65mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.