*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

My Year in Film 101/366

The Mechanics' Institute
Main Street, Bingley
Camera: Diana F+ with 75mm lens
Film: 35mm Fujicolour C200 (ISO 200)

"In 1864 a Mechanics’ Institute was erected in Main Street, Bingley, by public subscription. Its purpose was to provide a venue for self- help classes and educational opportunities for working people."

Over the years it also housed a girls' school, town hall, a free library, public baths, the Workers' Education Council and public library.

It's now a pub which always seems to have people drinking and smoking outside all day. It's almost ironic in a sad sort of way. I can't help but think that those forward-thinking Victorians who initially built it must be rotating. 

I'd like to see what it's like inside but can never bring myself to go in.

This was taken with a 34mm mask in the Diana to show the exposed perforations. Sadly they couldn't scan them like that when I had the film processed so I've had to do the best I could with my 35mm negative scanner which isn't ideal and has made them the wrong shape. If I find a better way of scanning them (or invest in a medium format scanner) I'll rescan and eventually replace them. They're meant to be square and look way cooler than this :'(

Back-blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.