horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Study in Improbability

How does that fit in there?

I'd hoped to have a picture of the new bike today, instead of another of the new car, but time conspired against me. Okay, that's partly because the short drive to get used to the Mini turned into 60 miles or so into the hills and along the shore.

Along the way my day was made by getting a wave from the driver of an MGB Roadster coming in the other direction, and then a guy near home who I flashed out of a side street who gave a toothy grin while pointing at the car, followed by a big thumbs up.

The car remains fun to drive as I get to grips with its feel. The steering is gloriously direct; the clutch and accelerator verging on the binary; the rattles legion; oh, and the radio loses reception when the brake pedal is pressed.

At least I managed to more or less get the bike wheels in a rideable shape, and tomorrow morning I might get it all together in time for us to take the bikes down to the Borders for a ride.

Anyway, beautiful day, finished off with a cracking Japanese banquet, and some new GF beers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.