Blustery Sunset

I was all alone in the house this morning. Lying half awake, staring at the ceiling and not looking forward to what I knew was going to be a difficult morning at work.
Just as I was dozing off, I heard a "bu-bump" noise come from outside the bedroom door. 
At first I thought I'd imagined it. I do that sometimes, just as I'm falling asleep I might hear the door-bell ring, or a knock on the door (but there's never anybody there) ... :o|
But then I definitely heard a another bump and some movement ... and it was definitely coming from inside the house ...
With my heart pounding, I slowly and very quietly, got out of bed and tip-toed across the floor towards the door ... I held the handle tight and began to turn it as quietly as I could ... Just at that moment, I heard something move no further away that a few inches the other side of the door ...
By this time, my heart was verging on a cardiac arrest ...
---
Then ... Scratch, scratch, scratch - "MEEOOOW" ... !!!
---
It was Tom (aka: 'Black and White Friendly Cat') ... (the neighborhood charmer and pest). He'd somehow found his way into the house and was on the hunt for somewhere warm to sleep ... :o)
---
The rest of the morning went as anticipated (ie: difficultly and very stress fully) ... and wet ... It rained quite a bit ... :o/
---
But all's well that ends well ... and although it was still a bit blustery this evening, at least the showers were broken ... :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.