Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Earwig having a very bad morning!

I was packing up our car to drive home from our holiday in Pembrokeshire this morning when I noticed a tiny movement on the front step. It was a tiny spider dragging an earwig which it had either killed or paralysed. It was struggling to drag its large prey item across the rough step, allowing me plenty of time to zoom in and capture a number of photos on my phone camera. The best photographic subjects are often those with an element of drama or jeopardy. Well, I was transfixed by this little drama. The spider has the earwig's head in its jaws. The earwig may still be alive. And the whole scene is less than 1 cm long. In terms of the spider's identity, it is quite difficult but I think it belongs to the genus Araneus and, from some of the other photos I took, I think it might be the common Araneus quadratus but I will checking that with someone better qualified (you know who you are!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.