Poor little mite

A long and exhausting shift at work was followed by an errand at the town centre and a detour to a supermarket for Rosie's favourite vegetable. Walking home from the bus stop, I took the two photos which I've posted as extras.

After dropping everything off at the apartment, I had to go back out again for a few things at the nearest supermarket. Instead of waiting for a bus back, I walked home and when crossing a car park, something made me turn left earlier than usual. It was then that I spotted something that looked like a grey ball on the grass. On closer inspection, it was a very young pigeon with blood on its head and chest. I thought it was dead but then noticed that it was still breathing. There weren't any adults to be seen anywhere and as it was very close to a busy road, I tipped everything from one of my bags into the other one, picked up the bird and took it home in the empty bag.

When I arrived at the apartment, I put kitchen paper into the bottom of a cardboard box and phoned the bird rescue centre to ask them if someone could come and pick it up as I didn't have any means of transportation to get it to them quickly enough. I kept checking on the injured pigeon and fortunately it was still alive when one of their volunteers came to take it to the rescue centre.

I gave the rescue centre all my details when I phoned them and hope to hear from them at some point whether this young pigeon has survived or not. I'm now keeping everything crossed that it will.

I would so love to have a lie in tomorrow but can't have one as my brother is coming over. Thankfully he suggested that we go out for lunch so I won't have to cook and I can have a very quiet rest of the day when he's gone home again.

Many thanks for the kind comments and stars on yesterday's blip of Rosie. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.