dreaming

By dreaming

A tale of tea

I am in the very lengthy process of clearing out my pantry, and I'm finding things I haven't seen or thought about in years.  This tin is very well worn, and comes with a story.  I grew up in a home where my parents drank coffee (which I really dislike) and occasionally "tea", which meant a tea bag dipped a couple of times in hot water and shared.  Not surprisingly, I didn't care for that either.  But I needed to find an "adult" beverage.  In the summer between my junior and senior years of college, I took an all too brief visit to England,  and there I discovered TEA!  Strong, with milk, and full of flavor.  I had my drink.  When I returned to the States, I tried a number of different teas to find the one I like best.  It turned out to be McGrath's Original Irish Blend, imported from Ireland.  I treated myself to a large tin of it, which you see in this photo.  As the years went by, and I moved around the country, McGrath's became harder to find.  Finally only tea bags were available, but in only one shop in any city.  I was able to buy it online for a while, then it just disappeared.  A search proved that the company had gone out of business.  I never found a substitute I liked as much, and when I had to give up caffeine, my love affair with tea ended.  There's not much flavor in decaffeinated tea, even if it is from Twinings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.