Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Dunes!

Ah, sand dunes.

I have memories of jumping off huge ones at Blackpool when about seven, and doing the same at Ainsdale when twenty (on our weekend jaunts from Liverpool when doing my BSc). It was during the latter period and when we spent time studying the ecosystems of sand dune systems that I came to love them dearly and appreciate what wonderful and fragile things they are.

This blip was taken at Ynyslas nature reserve near Borth and to the uninitiated may look dull. Trust me it isn't!

There was a splendid visitor centre (and I mean splendid - the ubiquitous shop but shitloads extra; a tank of the marine flora and fauna, kids colouring workshop, a sound wall for the local bird species (Sandwich Terns are bloody annoying) and much more.

Said shop yielded something about which I'm absurdly happy. The Field Studies Council (FSC) is an educational charity dedicated to raising awareness about the natural world and I already have some of their publications. To my collection I have added; "Guide to commoner water plants", "Guide to the day-flying moths of Britain", the "Field guide to Sphagnum mosses in bogs" and "A key to plants common on sand dunes".

All A5 format gatefold laminated and sturdy. Perfect for the map-case and rucksack and easier than a book.

After that; back to campsite; bit of fishing; saw a Kingfisher; caught nowt; not one fuck given.

Honestly, I'm like a pig in shit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.