Local Hero

Time was when your choice of gin was Gordon's or Booth's. Now every medium sized town seems to have a distillery. Stratford has one now and it's called, with astonishing originality, Shakespeare Distillery. I bought a miniature double measure at the food market recently, it was very pleasant but I'm not sure my palate is sophisticated enough to tell the difference between all the types available, and I got talking to one of the people from the distillery.
On close questioning it seems that the 'botanicals' from which it is made are not locally grown, not even necessarily British. However he said that one might have been able to see these plants when Will was a lad and they might well have grown locally.
I imagine he leaned back in his chair sucking his quill , admiring the botanicals in his garden in Stratford on Avon and wondering what to write about next.
I cut back the lavender this afternoon, the bees having gone off to forage elsewhere. There were only a couple of flowers left, and these are they.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.