The seats were all empty

Unlike in the main stadium in London. A full house every evening. Not sure about the morning sessions.

This morning, I decided that the stormy night made a downpour likely during an early morning run, and anyway I was keen to watch Mo Farah and the rest of the field in the 5000m. I enjoyed the final evening session of track and field. Farah is a consummate racer, not just a sprinter. I suspect that he was aware there were faster finishers than he, and he would up the pace from two laps out, and nullified their sprints. Much like Murray Halberg did in 1960, and the times were similar; Farah only 2 secs faster than Halberg. Both ran to their strengths. Both deserved their wins.

A midday run with grey clouds lowering over the bay, and smatterings of rain becoming more as I continued. It wasn't quite raining when I took this photo; the umbrella is down. The walkers are well wrapped against the cold; it was warm enough when running! The three people standing in the water had just been dropped there by the small boat. They stayed there until I turned up the hill away from the beach front. Oddness.

Swept branches and leaves off the decks this afternoon. The wind was really very strong overnight. By this afternoon, it was one of those perfect still, sunny winter afternoons. I enjoyed a Christchurch brewery's lager after the effort, and am now posting this.

Marathon at 10 pm (our time). Hope to look at some journals before then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.