At Last

By 8

Granulation

For the non-artists among you - it's a fancy term to describe how some paints separate when they dry... some are designed to do it for textural effects. This one (part of a detail of one of my works for the St Mary project), is a watercolour paint by Daniel Smith called Blue Apatite Genuine. They have really naff names but I love their paints.
I dried this wash under some cling film for added effect.
Oh and it's upside down. Sorry. Needed it to be that way so I could dry the sky so it didn't run into the land... it's meant to be abstract but I can only go so far down that road :-)
This piece will have this poem - or maybe just parts of the poem, added...somewhere... somehow... am thinking letraset at the moment... handwriting just gives too much of a signature for what I want here...

Off St Mary's.
A fortnight of raging seas
have scoured
sand layers
to expose
honey yellow limestone.



Looped and scooped
into sea-carved curves
sculpted to match
any Moore
it noses towards the land.

Naked from
its sleep underground
its flanks
squeeze cracks
crammed
with erratics

with storms

with history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.