Recreational Cruising

Seen on the Grand Union Canal in Loughborough this afternoon. I hadn't realised that it was possible to take a narrow boat like a taxi on the Grand Union. I'll have to suss it out.

It proved to be a gorgeous day. So warm that I was able to sit out at Oakley Grange Farm cafe and nod off in the sunshine. I would have stayed longer but you know what it's like when there's things to do.

Basil and I had started walking along the footpath to Hathern which starts opposite the farm. The prospect of a latte overcame the urge to walk further.

We drove to Staples where I picked up bits and pieces and then I rescued barking dog and took him for an additional stroll alongside the canal. Saw several things beside this boat.

A mother moorhen was chasing off her older brood because she's got a new youngster to look after. He was swimming around, seemingly a bit anxious. The older ones looked nonplussed at being scourged with a peck. I don't think they've been on their own that long.

The swans have sailed upstream from The Bridge pub. A group of them with some rather massive cygnets was standing on the canal path.

And lastly, a magnificent Red Admiral butterfly fluttered by.

I did nod off before having some tea and taking off to Wigston College in Leicester for a full choir rehearsal of Gerontius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.