Mono Monday: Roots

I was in Rayleigh, Essex, this afternoon having a check-up at the dentist. As well as a quick scoot around my teeth and a scale and polish, he also took a couple of routine x-rays to make sure the roots were okay (see what I did there?). My family moved to Rayleigh in 1963, and although I've lived in many different places since we left the town in 1974 I've continued to use the same dental surgery for over 50 years.

My blipfoto is of Rayleigh Mill at the top of the hill where I grew up, although it didn't have any sails until 1974 when it was restored. It's such a familiar sight to me. In Extras is a mono shot of the house I lived in from the age of 3 until I was 14, so it's very much where my roots are. Dad used to run a small building company, and built this home especially for our family. It's inevitably changed a little over the intervening years, but still holds so many wonderful memories of happy, carefree days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.