Yay Man, it's Max & Paul

Went down to Southmead Hospital, Bristol, this morning with my friend Ian to give yet more blood. When we went a couple of weeks ago they used the 'wrong coloured phails' so we had to have those ones taken again.

While there I got talking to Max and Paul, two friends who I thought might be doing the same sort of thing as Ian and I. It turned out that Paul (in the blue top) had aorta problems which affected the blood flow to his kidneys causing permanent damage. He is getting fed up with the treatment to keep his kidneys functioning so Max (the Rastafarian) is encouraging him to keep going and came with him today to give him moral support.
Strange thing is that Paul was too young to have an aortic valve replacement, if he'd been 10 years older they could have done it. I'm not a medical person so I don't understand why this is but it will be interesting to research.
It was fun talking to them though, Max was quite a character.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.