Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Hexapod!

My blip journal is taking on a life of its own! One day I photograph one insect being devoured by another and the next day I find this delightful 'hexapod catcher' in the local supermarket. I think it's great that 4 year-olds are encouraged to become entomologists. I think it's a bit of a shame that there is very little chance that a 4 year-old will be able to actually catch anything of any interest with this inferior equipment despite the fact that it has been 'Tested according to International standards' I am also a little confused by the fact that it is suitable for ages 4+ and unsuitable for children under 3. Is there a gap year between ages 3 and 4?
Anyway, in case you were wondering what exactly this hexapod catcher contains, there are;
1. A plastic magnifying glass,
2. a receptacle with 5 conjoined bowls and lids,
3. a scissor-action bug trap,
4. a beaker with a breathable lid (presumably for slightly more interesting specimens),
5. a small net and finally
6. an instrument of torture for cutting, stabbing and pulling bits off.

I think now that I have understood item number 6 I am rather glad that items 1 – 5 are likely to prove woefully ineffective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.