Our Wren from Carolina

She and her mate have emerged from a summer in the woods. Now they will continually delight us for the coming seasons with their busy antics and song. She(I assume it was Mrs. because she was busy, but not belting out songs and trills, the job of Mr.) was exploring every bush and garden object for tasty hidden bugs or spiders. I saw her from the kitchen window, grabbed the Nikon and slipped out to follow her. They are always one of my favorite subjects and I'm thrilled that she is back.

I had a therapeutic massage last night, it was absolutely lovely, but I feel totally exhausted this morning. Our summer has been a series of wild ups and downs. Maine, San Francisco, reunions with beloved friends, the excitement of the Viking ship, my painting exhibit intermixed with the deaths of six people and the wild swings involved in selling a childhood home. I'm just beat, stressed, out of gas and it shows this morning. I wish I had the energy of this delightful winged sprite exploring my dad's old watering cans this fall morning.

My brother and I got confirmation late yesterday afternoon for our childhood house closing formalities with an actual time...noon Friday at a local Registry of Deeds.

My sister in law will return from Florida after helping at the bedside of her beloved aunt who we always enjoyed so much when she visited. Auntie Louise is now at peace. T's sister is coming down from New Hampshire to spent the long holiday weekend with us and Kalle and a friend will arrive next week before they fly back to Sweden. The Viking adventure is over, the Draken has arrived in Mystic CT for over wintering and his summer 'circus' is over. I hope our wild ups and downs settle out as our new season draws in, one of my favorite times.

For  the Record,
This day came in cool and sunny with warming daytime temps. Hurricane Matthew's landfall is worrying for the southern east coast. It's a slow moving, deadly storm threatening Florida after leaving a path of destruction already, evacuations have begun.

All hands tired, especially me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.