Bumthang

A day of dzongs, temples, palaces, walking from one charming location to the other. Bumthang seems a fertile place for worshipping :)  I wish I could tell you which god did what or is revered for what, but I'm suffering from an overdose of info on all things mystical. I'll have to sort that out upon return.

At one of the temples, we happened upon the visit of a "teacher" and the whole village was assembled for the occasion, to the tune of pipes, drums, and rhythmic chanting. Everyone was wearing their ceremonial garb to listen to the words of the teacher (main shot) and the whole thing was quite festive.

Hubby and I also walked around the main street (all of six blocks) to see what ordinary life was all about. Everyone was happy to stop for me to take a pic (the two extras). Gross National Happiness is alive and well, even though people have very little. There's a lesson in there somewhere...

Back on the bus (and that dreadful road) tomorrow to our next location. I know I'm going to have nightmares tonite...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.