A fright up in the forest

It was a bracing walk, especially once Minty and I reached the very top of the hill where there was no protection from the chilly wind. There was a very rough track through young trees and it felt as if nobody else had been up this way for a long time.

Wrong! Just as we got back to the main track we were besieged by a pack of large dogs - hounds, really - about six of them, out for a walk with one woman who had a further six dogs on leads! I had quickly put Minty onto his lead because I thought I might have had trouble getting him to come back cos he loves other dogs, but as the 'loose' ones crowded round him/us in an excitable way, he was actually terrified and I'm sure he would have run off in fear if he hadn't been on the lead. The woman shouted that the dogs were harmless, but they still managed to alarm both Minty and me before we all continued in our opposite directions.

Sure enough, when we got back to the car-park there was a van displaying a dog-walking company's details. I wonder how many of the dogs' owners realise that they are being walked in such large unmanageable packs. The group was far too big for the woman to control on her own.

Anyway, the blip was taken (before all that happened) because I liked the autumnal colours of the willowherb and the way the pylons in the distance look just like the young trees. I don't know why some of the old trees have been left there, but I suppose they add something - not sure what! - to the scene.

GBBO tonight - desserts! My mouth is watering at the mere thought...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.