Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Wheelhouse

It's not perfect but it's the best I can do and I satisfy myself that for a first attempt at a wheelhouse it's passable.  I'm not looking for compliments I assure you, but as someone who is critical of the modelling of others I must accept my failings too.  

It's taken around 4 weeks to understand the 50 or so photographs and convert them in to plans, cut out the parts and assemble.  And to be honest, whilst I really enjoy doing it I've a a few 'despair' moments when the Hand of God with scalpel, loomed overhead ready to strike.  A few bits have been scrapped and rebuilt, a couple more than twice.  There is a glaring mistake in the pic above but it wouldn't affect anything at all were it to put to sea with it the way I've built it so I've left it alone.    

I started modelling the 2009 version of this Calmac Island Class ferry although it was built in 1976.  (The tall wheelhouse was added in 1999).  Then I realised that the radar dishes and wipers were far too modern for a Port Appin layout so they were removed and rebuilt.  One of them is still incorrect but there are probably only a few people who would spot it.  

There have been compromises because some parts would be just too fragile if they were built to scale and some were just impossible for me to scale down. remember, my only tools are a scalpel and a steel ruler. 

 Obviously glue and paint has come in handy and a digital ruler has helped take some measurements.  Apart from that there are only two 'bought in' parts in this, the left side wheelhouse ladder (taken from an Oxford 1/76th scale model fire engine and the man in the wheelhouse - a Bachmann scale person.

Next step is to build the bow assembly complete with working ramp.  I built a working ramp for the model of MV Glenachulish so I have sussed out the tricks with that assembly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.