There once was an ugly duckling.......

With feathers all stubby and brown ...........  Danny Kaye

I loved Danny Kaye's interpretation of the Hans Christian Anderson Fairy Tale when I was a child and always sing the song  to any Cygnets I see, much to the consternation of fellow walkers along the canal towpath, where I took a brisk walk after work this evening and was probably overhead?!  This Cygnet seemed to enjoy my company though and broke away from the rest of his family who were getting ready to settle down for the night in their usual place by the local Boatyard, and followed me all the way down the canal until I climbed the steps up on to the road where I wished him goodbye and repeated those immortal words .....  'one day you'll be a very fine Swan indeed'!.

Mission accomplished 'Day 4 back at the office'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.