Third_eye

By Third_eye

An early photographer - and more!

Trawling through my small collection of memorabilia of that Victorian literary great, Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, aka Lewis Carroll, author of the "Alice" books and many more as well as teaching mathematics and logic at Oxford University, I think it would be of interest to mention here that he was also a pioneer of the then new science (or art) of photography.

Some of his photographs have survived, including the one stuck onto the last page of his hand-written story, originally called Alice's Adventures Underground.  The photo was of his young friend Alice Liddell for whom the story was written and named.

Also here is an illustration and fragment of text from Hiawatha's Photographing - Dodgson's pastiche in the metre of William Wadsworth Longfellow's epic poem,The Song of Hiawatha which was popular at the time.

I am very much of a mind that words and pictures go together. Perhaps it was my early affection for the works of this master wordsmith that pointed me subliminally in that direction and shaped my life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.