PIERING OVER THE EDGE

A lovely few hours at Saltburn today. We had lunch in a very vintage-1940s themed restaurant where B asked (not seriously, I hope they realised) whether we could have discount because I'd met Monty and a few Battle of Britain pilots in days gone by. The ambience was very reminiscent of my Auntie Ethel's B&B in Weymouth, where we used to have many of our holidays when I was a little girl - and that's a good thing! I did something very daft when I picked up the wrong jug to pour milk into my tea, and added a splash of gravy before I realised. I just pretended it was beef tea, and had to take the memory away later with coffee and cake down by the pier.

Despite the loveliness of the day, B suddenly decided to go into full doom-merchant mode while we were walking on the pier. Honestly, it's a wonder I manage to smile at all sometimes, but it seems to cheer him up. I think I'll send him out to spend his days wandering round Hartlepool with a "The End of the World is Nigh" sandwich-board, and only let him come back at tea-time, and then only if he promises never to mention what he's been reading on some effing conspiracy website!

I'm going to clear out some cupboards and drawers now to make my world a better place, even if it doesn't do much for anybody else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.