Extra Water

Normally at the Calabash docks you walk to a boardwalk/pier to get to the fishing boats.  During a lull in the storm, I took this photo of a boat called Hurricane II  (of all names for today), showing the high water covering the walkways one usually takes to reach the boat. 
Thank you so much for your expressions of concern, thoughts, and prayers regarding Hurricane Matthew.  The track meant those of us close to the coast are not getting the volumes of rain of some of our inland towns. ( A town near the one where I took the red caboose photo on Friday has already had 12" of rain.)  We are still having heavy rain and wind gusts that are to last well into the evening, but so far all the work in using sandbags outside, emptying lower shelves and drawers inside was not necessary, but I would prepare the same next time.  The rain right this minute and wind gusts are as high as we have had, and it sounds like someone is spraying the window beside me with a watering hose set on high volume.  I see the Rose of Sharon tree beside the window is leaning at about 45 degrees, so I have replanting to do tomorrow.
Footnote: About a year or so ago, I stood on the dock adjacent to the wall at the bow of the boat to take a close-up photo of the bow and I had to work my way there in a maze of docks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.