HilaryinOman

By HilaryinOman

Kingfisher

After an incredible whole weekend trip to the desert, which involved driving the complete south to north desert track of Wahiba(150km of off road driving in deep orange sand)and (I think it may have been the heat, only mad dogs and Englishmen etc!) We only saw three other people(locals Bedouin, who all very kindly stopped us and made sure we were ok! I think they all thought we were crazy) I spent the weekend observing Vultures, Spotted Eagles and fan-tailed Ravens, so I was thoroughly spoilt, I then come back and a beautiful Kingfisher lands next to me at my salt water lagoon! How lucky am I! This is definitely a Kingfisher I have seen before, but not my usual friend, this one is by far sleeker and not quite as pretty, still gorgeous, but just not so utterly beautiful. She sat and observed me for a bit, caught a fish and was then chased off by a Gull. I am on cloud nine! I just love these birds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.