Fences

Dear Diary,

I've always thought that fences would make a good photographic series.  There seems no end to the ways we can close ourselves off from our neighbors.  This is a typical white picket fence which is so common in New England.  I have one myself enclosing a small door yard in front of the house.  My extra is a cast iron fence which encloses the town green in the same town.

That fence is a fairly recent reconstruction.  The original iron fence was donated to the war effort in 1917 to be melted down for cannons.  It took the town 80+ years to have it re-created and put back in its proper place.  People seem to feel better with a fence.  You know where you stand with a fence...in bounds or out of bounds, it is clear.

In the inn that you see in that photo I found a sign that I just loved so I include it too as an extra.  It is a great manifesto for living life.  In the chaotic and troubled world of today it might be good to reflect on its message.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.