Smile!

Hartwood the Horse couldn't understand why, despite his best efforts at cultivating British teeth, he wasn't included in the Olympics Dressage this year!

I'm so proud of the show my London neighbours have put on this past fortnight.

I'm so proud to be British today but more than that I'm proud to be part of the Planet.

I swear sometimes when I saw Olympians pass the finish line, or jump highest, or whatever, I felt my heart would burst, not just for British competitors but for every athlete. And not just the winners, but all of them. It's all the same. It doesn't matter what country because each person who's worked their heart out to get there deserves admiration. First, second, third or crossing the line on your knees.

There's never going to be an Olympics for filing, or dentistry, or project management (and let's be glad... it'd be hell to watch on tv....), but the principles are the same. Hard graft, hard work, deciding that even if you *might* not be best at something, you're going to give it a go, and not feeling a failure because you didn't get first, because you gave it a bloody good shot.

Keep going Hartwood - there's always Rio!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.