TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Quick!

She's not looking. Just get as many in your mouth as you can!

This is the feeder attached to my kitchen window. My new-found family of blackbirds (mum, dad, 3 babes) have discovered that this gets regularly topped up and can now get into the tray without too much trouble. I think they realise that the layer of glass between me and them affords some protection.
The cats on the other hand find it all very frustrating. They hear the blackbird stabbing at the dry mealworms and jump onto the window only to come up against the glass - and the bird flies off unscathed only to return 5 minutes later and start the whole business again.
The babies are pretty tame and I'm sure I could get them feeding out of my hand but I would be scared the cats would get them so I won't try. I'll just carry on talking to them!
Thanks for all the comments about my shade erecting skills. It is interesting to observe that all the comments came from women.....
More tablets - antibiotics, antihistamine. Shake me I rattle....
Don't think I'm not watching the closing ceremony while I'm doing this - I've got it on BBC live. I have loved this truly digital experience that has been the Olympics. I'll miss it.
Have a good week folks. xx
canon 1d; 180mm; iso800; f/11; 1/50"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.