Judith's photos

By Judith

Just a walk in the park

I still can't do slopes or hills, but I'm getting a bit bored with walking round the block from our house. So this morning I got in the car, drove across town, and did a couple of laps of the park. I called in at the Cafe at the Park for a cuppa.

The building was originally a shelter but nobody much stepped foot in it as it was in such a dreadful state and, to put it mildly, stank! It was restored, a front added and turned into a cafe a few years ago. It always closed at the end of September so I was surprised to see it open today. When I chatted to the owner, she explained that the opening (a couple of years ago) of a Steiner School on a site next to the park, together with the current Town Council's recent revamp of the park, has meant that the park is a lot busier now. 

It's a lovely place to sit, although I stood inside the cafe chatting. They even have blankets and hot water bottles for cold days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.