Road Trip Day 4

We headed into Belgium and stopped for lunch at a charming country inn dating from 1740 (Moeder de Gans in Teuven - see extra).
Then onto Kelmis where we visited a museum dedicated to Moresnet, a small semi-independent nation which existed from 1816 to 1920. A nation with a fascinating history.
From there we headed back into the Netherlands to Valkenburg where we toured a mining museum where this blip was taken. The museum was a real eye-opener for me and surprisingly one of the highlights of the trip in a very humbling way. My father spent most of his working life in the coal mining industry and I had no idea of the conditions he worked in. I was a fairly inquisitive child asking a lot of questions but I don't think he gave me an accurate picture of how it really was. I'm sure he would have been interested to know about this particular visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.