Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

palibe madzi.....

There is no water in the taps since yesterday morning!  I had a couple of buckets but they are almost finished and am really hoping that water will come back on today!  We have a severe shortage of water due to lack of rainfall last year but usually we have a couple of hours of water every day!

Yesterday I didn't take a blip - I was shattered and forgot!  I went to language class in the morning and then had to go and see how to transfer my Malawian SADC licence to a Zambian one!  Should have been simple - however, I was told to go to the Malawian Embassy and get a letter of certification that my licence was valid, then get a medical from a Government hospital, bring a copy of my work permit and my passport and my Malawian licence!  So, today I did not go to class but went to the Malawian embassy with my passport, work permit and drivers licence!  They asked me where was my Malawian work permit (well it was on my old passport which I didn't have with me)!  I explained and the lady was not helpful.  She asked for K100 and the letter would be ready tomorrow!  I said fine but I need a receipt!  She just glared at me!  I am supposed to collect it tomorrow (and miss another class as they only open from 8-12)!!!  Then I went to one of the Government hospitals to get my medical form filled out!  The guy asked lots of questions and filled the form and asked for K100 (standard procedure it seems).  Again I told him I needed a receipt - I got a receipt for K60!!!

So....tomorrow after I get my letter from the Malawian embassy, I have to go to the licensing office and do a short driving test (and probably pay another hundred kwacha!!).  I somehow think it would have been easier to cross the border and renew my Malawian licence!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.