Lala's Journal

By Lala

Swan Cull

Why is it that some days I can crawl into bed and realise that not only have I not done my blip yet, but I don't have a photo to use and on others I have so many it's difficult to choose?

This morning I drove to work across the marsh and witnessed a glorious sunrise with the marsh mist hovering below. At LC the mist surrounded the castle, so I immediately grabbed my phone and took a series of shots, cursing that I had forgotten my Canon! At least I had a decent blip! As I then went over the the Education Centre, the Virgin balloon, blipped last work flew directly overhead, so by 9am I had a choice of blips.
The phone rang and one of my staff informed me she was stuck in traffic, this meant that I was needed to be part of the 'meet and greet' team. On the way, we discovered the wild life team, out on the Great Water, in canoes, boats and waders, performing a collection of 24 swans for their annual health check. A most amusing half hour. The main photo shows the wild life warden, in waders plus 2 canoeists, having rounded up about half of the swans standing guard waiting for the rest of the team, not allowing any escapees. The extra shows some of the swans, swaddled on the bank awaiting their turn for the medical!

More of today's photos can be found on the Leeds Castle Education FB page

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.