Tiny Tuesday : : Mystery

I hope that the new memberships announced by Blip Central today will enable a central spot for challenges so that we can go there to find out who is doing what. Perhaps there already is and I just didn't get the memo. I don't think this shot is a huge mystery, but perhaps you would like to guess what kind of flower this is.

Warning: If you are sick of the subject, a British subject with your own concerns or still feeling too squeamish about our Republican  nominee (actually, that word  our makes  me squeamish), read no further….

I have always believed that a man like Donald Trump, and we no longer have to go through what I mean by that, could never be elected president. The thing which baffles me is, what kind of person could support a man who is an arrested development adolescent, sexual lout who appears to be gaming our electoral system just to see if he can. I still can't really answer that question. It is clear that many people say they hate Mrs. Clinton (why can't we get that word out of the discussion) , but how can they possibly believe that  a man who sees himself as a tin pot dictator be a better choice?

I am almost able to read the commentaries about this extraordinary election and all the musings that there has never, in the history of the republic, been one like it. All I can say about that is that I think we have been moving ever closer to it every four years beginning with Reagan. 

Now that the moderate Republicans are bailing out of the leaking boat of the Trump campaign like rats leaving a sinking ship, I'm enjoying, in a perverse sort of way, reading the editorial pages again. George Will, a fairly conservative Republican columnist wrote today under the headline VILE TRUMP IS CHEMOTHERAPY FOR THE GOP. I particularly enjoyed his four reasons why Trump should NOT drop out of the campaign as some are belatedly urging him to do.


1. He will give the nation the pleasure of seeing him join the one cohort of the many he disdains, that he most despises -- "losers".
2. There is no such thing as "rock bottom".
3. By persevering through Nov. 8, he can simplify the GOP's quadrennial writing of its post campaign autopsy which this year can be published Nov. 9 in just one sentence: " Perhaps it is imprudent to nominate a venomous charlatan".
4. Trump is the GOP's chemotherapy, a nauseating, but if carried through to completion, perhaps a curative experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.