Alberta

By Alberta

One last sunflower - an Olympian!

I promised myself no more sunflower pics! But then I saw this Olympian!! And I wanted to acknowledge not only the Olympics as an event but the athletes, the organisers and last night's ceremony.. Just how did they organise that!! I loved it and I hope that the spirit that has been cultivated and that has flourished in these games will sow many seeds for young athletes for the future. We are by no means young athletes but we went out on our bikes this morning ... a 40km run to Riberac for coffee and croissant and this sunflower just shouted out at me so here it is!!

And coincidentally I was sent an article by a friend of mine about the coach to David Rudisha the 800m marvel ... and how he was spotted by the 'Irish Brother' not because he was first in a race but because he stood out in his style and his determination ... the background to all this is in the book Running with the Kenyans, by Adharanand Finn.

And that I believe is one of the most significant things we can do in life.. spot and cherish our own and others talent ...look for the qualities that stand out and we all have them...

In Denmark there is a law Janterlau I think that is how it is spelt. which effectively translates to' the poppy that stands out above the rest will get its head cut off'.. Time to change this way of thinking wherever it occurs in the world?! And I am pleased to see that this Olympian sunflower is standing proud .. with its head held high...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.