Frost Flower

We awoke on this morning to one of autumn's best magic tricks: frost! It was the first frost of the season for our area, and everything was covered in silver-white sparkles. When the sun hit it, the frost melted, turned to steam, and rose into the air.

I can't say it was truly a vision that I had, but the picture of a frozen flower came to mind, and I knew just where it was located: at Millbrook Marsh, where a little stand of wildflowers decorates the path near the parking lot.

The frost goes so quickly when the sun hits it. First is the frozen phase, all sparkle. Then the melt. Followed by the drip, with all surfaces shiny and damp. I had to cover my camera to keep moisture from dripping on it from out of the trees.

This was my favorite shot of the morning: gaillardia, or blanket flower, covered in frost. In the photo, the frost crystals are so tall that they almost seem like hoar frost. Delicate spider webs are draped around the edges of the bloom.

And in the background are the golden leaves of Millbrook Marsh - for Millbrook is nearly always golden - where this photo was taken. Golden leaves and flower and frost all lit up by the beautiful morning light . . .

The soundtrack is a tune I just stumbled across, and it seems quite fitting: The Lucksmiths, with Good Light, from their album First Frost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.