Not a sight you usually get to see

Yes, it's my own Kidney which was removed Tuesday 11th October. I asked if it was possible for someone to take a photograph of it for me as I obviously wouldn't be able to.

One of the theatre nurses obtained permission and here it is.

I thought that I'm never going to have an opportunity for such a unique Blip ever again gruesome as it is.
Must admit I was quite shocked at the amount of fat surrounding the kidney!

I went down at 08:30, my friend Ian was supposed to go down at lunchtime but due to a complicated operation that the surgeon was tied up with he didn't go into theatre until around 16:00. This meant the kidney was on ice for about 4 hours or more so it's taking some time to 'wake up' and start operating properly. There is already some function but he will be in hospital until at least next Tuesday by the look of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.