AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Funeral

Today was my auntie Ann's funeral.  She was 89 years old, and had been ill for quite a while I think.  I say "I think" because it's been years since I've seen her and my uncle Brian, who's one of my mum's brothers.  It might've been at dad's funeral in 2010; then again, perhaps not - other than myself and my immediate family, I've no real recollection of who else was or wasn't there (but thank you if you were).

Auntie Ann was devoutly catholic.  The funeral was held in the church where she worshipped and it was a nice service.  It normally quite annoys me (apologies, friends with faith) when the chap at the front spends all the time banging on about God and not about the poor soul in the coffin, but this was a nice mix of both.  He obviously knew auntie Ann and valued her as a member of his congregation.  Her son, Thomas, made a beautiful and emotional speech about her love of friends and family.

I was quite surprised she was cremated, actually.  I was all wrapped up assuming we'd have to stand at a cold, wet graveside for more of the same, but we were in the same crematorium where we left mum and dad.  I found myself unable to take my eyes off the seat I was in last time - front row, next to the aisle, my niece on the other side and brother, sister-in-law and nephew beyond her.  Brought back some rather painful memories.

But I'm not dwelling.  Today was about the Breslin-Gibsons, not me, and I thought they did her proud.

An snooze on the sofa with Charlie when I got home made for a lovely afternoon.  I think I said I'd do some work, but I can't really settle to it, so thought I'd tootle round Blip instead :-)

Lx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.