Robin at large

By Robin

A Leap of Faith

A couple of days ago I noticed this image and thought I better take a trip down to the Falls of Feugh.

I thought this was too early for the Salmon to be going upstream, and of course today is Monday, they could have been taking a rest after entertaining the visitors at the weekend. No rest for a salmon trying to get home however, and sure enough they were leaping for all they could manage.

Quite a few people watching. I got this image by climbing down almost to water level, risking life and limb no doubt. The falls require the salmon to make quite a large leap, I don't know how they manage it against the torrent flowing downstream, but I suppose a few must manage it. Amazing.

This one has made an almost vertical leap, I am afraid she was unsuccessful this time. While I was there I am pretty sure I saw at least one manage the first rock, but there are many more to go. One salmon had the misfortune to leap right out of the water onto the top of a ledge of the rocks. I was happy to see that eventually she managed to fall off the rock and get back into the river

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.