Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Chinese cream cake

Spotted this in Chinatown. The most enchanting little production line.

The moulds are like metal madeleine tins but with a top as well as a bottom. Four little pumps slip batter into the heated bottom case then the lid is dropped. Heat comes from a metal plate below, creating miniature ovens which move slowly in an anti clockwise circle. 

When cooking time is over, the chef to flip open the lid and reveal a perfect little fish.

A notice in english told me the filling is hot, so I am guessing that like a chocolate fondant it has a gooey middle.

Yes I was tempted to try one but was afraid I would not stop. They smelt amazing.

I've organised a Blipmeet off the back of these cakes. Please let me know if you can make it x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.