If you go down to the woods today…

...you wouldn’t have found any teddy bears having a picnic (you have to know the song to get that!), but you would have found me out for a stroll on a beautiful autumn day. There was quite a cold wind blowing but the skies were a beautiful blue and there was nonstop warm sunshine.

This new broadleaved community woodland is part of the Forest of Avon, and was planted at stages between 1993 and 2006 by local people, voluntary groups and local contractors. It has recently been designated as a Local Nature Reserve. I’m not sure what species these trees are, but I like the lines and the play of light and shadow amongst the young trees.

Despite only four hours sleep last night, I managed to complete a three mile circular walk from home today, taking in these woods en route. I’m hoping that all that fresh air and exercise will finally help me get a good night’s sleep…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.