Plus ça change...

By SooB

Menagerie

TallGirl is convinced there's something funny going on. From the loir (dormouse) that has taken up residence in my office, to the lizard in my shower*, it seems I am irresistible to creatures just now. (And I haven't even told her about the dragonfly (what? it's October!) that thought I was a lake today (easy mistake), and the frog noises I can hear that are way too loud to be from outside the house.

On the plus side, mouse season has arrived late (only one sighting so far and no traptures to deal with).

So, today. Life took a big step forward with some career stuff, maybe, and the afternoon was spent repairing the bird table. Later, a meeting with a man about a car where, all gussied up (I even wore lipstick!), I convinced some poor fool that he could safely give me a brand new car. Maybe. If I can get all the bits of paper he needs. Well, this is France.

TallGirl is horrified that French grammar is even more complicated than she knew (some reflexive verbs don't accord, it's to do with pronominal nouns or something.) I was really trying to listen, but she's about a billion levels further on than me so I mostly just say "gosh, really" and then ignore it. I find that, mostly, French people are happy to take my string of unlinked verbs and nouns and make a pretty sentence of them.

*It is, by the way, an unused shower - hence the filth. It is waiting for a critical plumbing intervention. Which reminds me. I should probably call the plumber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.