Caley

A lot of my cad desk work is automated and many of the processes are streamlined and efficient. This is particularly the case with what I think of as bread and butter type topo surveys. My site job yesterday was the exception and as a result the office element has been a stinker with a lot of manual cad work and even extracting hand written notes and dimensions from a rarely used survey book.

Steve from Microsoft phoned me in the afternoon and provided me with some light entertainment when I was needing a coffee break.
My computer was sending out signals over the internet and peoplle were hacking in to my bank account.
"Oh, No!" I exclaimed, "Can you help?"
He asked me to switch on my computer.
"Okay, I'll just go and get it"
Following directions I took a deliberate and painfully long time to boot up my virtual laptop. Apparently it was the hackers activity that was making it slow.
"Has it booted up yet?"
"Yes; Oh no, the battery has gone flat and it has switched off again. 
The next reboot, after finding the virtual cable, took even longer.
I was surprised at Steve's patience.
"Has it booted up yet?"
"Aye, that's it now"
I was anticipating instructions from Steve giving him control of my PC and the next few minutes indeed unfolded accordingly.
At the penultimate virtual step I asked him if what he was getting me to do needed an internet connection. He said yes. In that case I would need to go to MacDonalds for wifi and it would take me about half an hour to get there. He didn't ask me if I had internet connection at the start.
"Can I get your phone number Steve? I will phone you on my mobile when I get there?
"Steve, are you there?, are you there?"
Coffee break over.

I resumed on the project heartened that I may have stalled Steve on his parisitic mission to deceive and con some poor soul.

I got a wee walk up the hill with Caley just before dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.