Fire on the Magaliesberg Mountains

'F'' is for Fire! ;-)

R jr called me about 30 minutes after midnight, told me to bring my camera! Can you imagine how confused I was, fast asleep in the middle of the night, being ordered to bring my camera!? Hiehiehie!!

He woke up and realised his bedroom window was open and it was quite cold, he got up to close his window and saw the mountain burning! I gave him the camera and he did the 'shooting'. We could see the fire moving further along the mountain range, towards the Aerial Cableway we visited just the day before, it doesn't seem that it reached there, fortunately.

South Africa was struck by serious fires the last couple of days, in the Free State Province thousands of hectares burnt down and lots of livestock lost, even firemen and farmers were seriously burnt and admitted to hospitals. In the Potchefstroom area, where M(MissU2) was born and raised, huge farms burnt down, some farmers saying they have never seen anything close to this tragedy in their lives!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.