Where Next?

By HK

Mount Seymour, the ascent and descent!

This is Fiona and myself about to start our cycle up Mount Seymour at 7:30am! It's 12.5km and 1040m up. We had given ourselves 2 hours but it only took us 1hr 35mins which we were delighted with! That left us plenty of time to enjoy the views and run from the flies while we waited for the boys race to finish.

Andy and Richard came up to the line neck and neck with Andy finding energy for a final sprint. It took them just 41 minutes!

It should have been all relaxation from there on. Unfortunately I am better at cycling up hills than I am at going down them. I managed to hit a pot hole on the way down and sent myself flying over the handlebars, knocking myself out! Everyone was lovely and very helpful, genuinely impressed I think by my acrobatics as we waited for the ambulance to arrive! Bit of a trip to hospital but after a CT scan and some patching up I was soon home. I could have blipped a lovely picture of me in a neck brace on a hospital trolly but this is a much better memory of the day!

The take home message- be aware of pot holes on long downhills and get yourself a Specialized bike helmet, they're more expensive but a much better and safer design than your bog standard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.