Third_eye

By Third_eye

I found some more cats . . .

Well, didn't exactly just 'find' them because they were sitting looking at me all the time . . . .

I actually found them about 30 years ago in a small junk shop in rural Kent and bought them because they reminded me of the kind of cheap china ornaments that were popular in my childhood.

I know nothing about this piece, except that it is probably late Victorian, and the lady in the shop could only say that it had belonged to a very old villager who had had it 'for ever', and with no pottery marks on it there was no way of telling ... but I Iiked it and gladly handed over the small handful of silver she asked for it.

It would be interesting to know what the experts(?) on today's wall-to-wall tv antiques shows would say about it . . .

. . . "Stupid boy!" probably, but surely any form of art or kitsch is good value if it pleases somebody's eye, as this does mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.