YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

School Hat

Last night I went to a presentation called 'Jolly Hockeysticks' by Lucy Adlington and Meridith Towne from The History Wardrobe.  There were lots of girls school uniforms and outfits from different eras - the dreaded gymslip, the horrendous navy blue gym knickers complete with pocket for hanky etc. 

I have to admit that I am pleased to say that I never wore a gymslip, navy knickers or a straw hat.  I was from the generation that rolled my  waistband over and over to make my grey school skirt into a mini.

Lucy and Meridith are really entertaing and it was a fun night but there was a serious side to it regarding just how hard women have had to fight to get an education. I was shocked to learn that Cambridge University did not offer women degrees on an equal footing with men until 1948.  However, I was pleased to learn that Durham University let women graduate from the 1890's.  A very interesting night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.