Music #2

I received a new gizmo a few days ago. I plugged it in but haven’t been able to do much with it so far. I’m a great fan of ‘factory refurbished’ for certain things. I’m a bit old school with computer recording so I don’t need the latest stuff. This model has been superseded by a new model but it’s fine for me and about half the price of the new one. It means I can plug in a microphone and a guitar and record them on my software. I can also play a midi keyboard into it. Great stuff or at least it will be once I’ve figured out how to work it all! That’s my blip entry for today, it's a bit of an update on last Friday's blip. You only need to read on if you want to read more grumbling about pain and illness.
 
I went to see the doctor this morning. I’d been given the runaround all day yesterday when I’d wanted to speak to my GP about alternative pain relief because the co-codamol was making me more than a little bit nauseous. The receptionist said she’d get the pharmacist to ring me. I queried this as I thought it unlikely the pharmacist could resolve the issue. She assured me that it was completely within his remit as a surgery based pharmacist. With left it that he’d ring after 2.30.
 
4 o’clock and no call, so I called again. I eventually spoke to him at 4.30 and it turned out he’d been dumped on and couldn’t help me. I did, quite reasonably, express my frustration, which he completely understood. He also went back to the receptionist and told them how the relief of my problems had been delayed by incorrect referral. They assured me I could speak to a doctor in the morning and if she felt it appropriate she had access to an emergency appointment.
 

You know, I don’t want to generalize but frequently doctors don’t listen. I was quite clear about what I wanted, but this doctor had her own agenda, which was to ensure that nothing had been missed. I couldn’t seem to get through to her was that I was OK on the treatment plan and very confident of a good outcome but what I wanted was the pain relief to enable me to resume the basic functions of life, rather than sitting or lying down. I don’t think she actually understood that. She couldn’t actually visualise herself in that position. I have come away with a different drug regime but I’m not very confident it’ll be up to the job. It might mean I don’t feel so ill, I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.